Review: Lindt Mini Lambs for Easter

lindt lamb.jpgThis is a nicely packaged Easter treat that would look nice in someone's Easter basket. We initially picked it up because it had lambs, not the traditional bunnies or chicks.

The first thing I was surprised by, or more accurately, faked out by, was that the piece was hollow. This is a normal occurrence with Easter candy, but it tends to seem like cheating to me. Even more, when I realized it was just a shell, I immediately hoped there was some of the Lindt truffle filling that I love so much inside. Nope, faked out.

So having my hopes dashed might normally irritate me, but it was such intense milk chocolate, it made no difference. In fact, save for texture, you would think there was caramel in the chocolate it was so milky and creamy.

You can get all sorts of Lindt chocolates here.

Bob Wallace at Permalink | social bookmarking

March 2, 2008

Review: Harry London Assorted Chocolate Easter Bunnies

harry london.jpg
When you're choosing what candy to put in an Easter basket, you always have to have at least one chocolate bunny. But how about three instead? We picked up Harry London's Solid Assorted Bunnies today and checked them out. Inside are three solid bunnies, two milk chocolate and one white chocolate. Each is individually wrapped in the box, and measures about 2 inches tall. We wish there had a dark bunny to round out the trifecta instead of two milk, but otherwise we think this is a very nice gift for someone who knows the difference between good and bad milk and white chocolate.

"Milk chocolate" is an understatement on this Easter bunny. It was very milky, giving it a fairly substantial caramel flavor. This caramel flavor isn't a bad thing at all, but know that its there and the piece is pretty sweet. We'd compare it in flavor and mouthfeel (which was very smooth) to Cadbury. It has a nice bite, and look for a hint of cinnamon while eating it, and a little bit of coffee in the aftertaste.

As for the white chocolate bunny, it was soft and extremely sweet. I'd say it was nearly fudgy in texture and taste, which was good. Overall, I really enjoyed it, but am glad it was a smaller bunnie - I fear the sweetness would have become too much had I eaten much more (and I would have).

Check out the Harry London website.

Bob Wallace at Permalink | social bookmarking

Review: Hershey's Milk Chocolate Filled with Peanut Butter

Hershey-ChocPB.jpg
I bought this bar not expecting much, and I wasn't disappointed. A completely underwhelming experience. What I expected, for the most part, was a bigger Reese's Peanut Butter Cup in bar form - which would have been quite enjoyable.

What I got was more a half-hearted effort to milk (no pun intended) more value out of the Hershey's brand. The peanut butter is not the same as a Reese's cup. However, I'm pretty sure its the same one would find in Reeses Pieces. Smooth, sweet, generally tasty. But there's not enough of it to make much of a difference - the chocolate totally dominates the bar.

Is it a terrible candy bar? No. Is it something I'd buy given the plethora of other choices? Nope.

Check out Hershey's Filled w/ Peanut Butter here.

CandyBlog also has a nice review of this candy bar.

Bob Wallace at Permalink | social bookmarking

March 1, 2008

Review: Zero Candy Bar

product_banner_zero.gif
We typically try not to choose regular, every day candy bars at Candy Snob - you won't see a review of a Reese's Peanut Butter Cup or a Hershey's Bar. Why? Because we all know about those candies. Its just not as interesting. What we will do, however, is look for venerable brands who (1) have made some change, or (2) are classic, retro brands that aren't as well known.

So we picked up a Zero bar today and we're sure glad we did. The candy started way back in 1931, and after changing hands a couple times is now a part of Hershey.

The name "Zero" is believed to come from the bar being originally marketed as a cool, tasty treat; or as cool as Zero degrees. Some people still enjoy Zero candy bars frozen - we're looking forward to trying this ourselves.

It is the unique combo of ingredients makes this bar so interesting and good. Caramel, peanut and almond nougat (which is a much darker nougat than you're used to seeing in a 3 Musketeers or MilkyWay), covered in white fudge. I minor distinction between white chocolate and white fudge, but you could definitely taste the softer flavor of the fudge. Plus, the nougat isn't completely smooth - there is a spattering of peanut and almond nuggets.

Overall, the texture is awesome, nice bite and chew, and a very unique and multi-layered flavor. Warning, this bar is very sweet. If you're not a white chocolate fan, or don't like your candy that sweet, this might not be for you.

Buy Zero bars for only $.58 each.

Name info from Hershey's corporate site.

Bob Wallace at Permalink | social bookmarking

February 27, 2008

Review: Lake Champlain Organic Dark Chocolate Bar

As with all Lake Champlain Organic Chocolates, these are all-natural, Kosher, gluten free, and 100% Organic Chocolate certified by QAI. The Dark Chocolate Bar contains 55% cocoa content.

The first observation that struck us as we ate this is that it melts extremely well in your mouth - it actually melts more like milk chocolate than dark. This is a big plus, it adds a whole dimension to the chocolate experience past the flavor (which was very good).

There is an herbaceous, earthy flavor to the chocolate - which adds nice dimension. Along those lines, there is a subtle, woody aftertaste.

So if you like your dark chocolate flavorful, complex and with a nice mouthfeel, Lake Champlain's Organic Dark Chocolate Bar is one to check out.

Check out Lake Champlain's Organic Chocolates here.

Bob Wallace at Permalink | social bookmarking

February 26, 2008

Review: Chocolove Organic Dark Chocolate Bar

bar_organic_61_575.jpg
If there was ever a candy company with an appropriate name, it would be Chocolove.

This bar (which measures 6" x 3") is chock-full (no pun intended) of great dark chocolate flavor. At 61% cocoa content, there is enough cocoa butter to get through and smooth out the flavor for non-dark chocolate aficionados. The flavor is tart, and merges the bitter with the sweet brilliantly. There are solid fruity notes, and a really full body - no doubt from the Belgian chocolate Chocolove uses.

This particular bar is also certified 100% organically grown and processed which, according to the wrapper, is what gives the the beans' their rich and deep character. FYI, the beans are grown in the Caribbean.

Look for more reviews of Chocolove from Candy Snob soon.

Get some Chocolove for yourself.

Bob Wallace at Permalink | social bookmarking

February 25, 2008

Review: Choxie Espresso Truffle Bar

scan0001.jpgThe Choxie Espresso Truffle Bar is Candy Snob's second foray into the world of Choxie, and it does not disappoint. The bar contains rich truffled dark chocolate blended with aromatic espresso. I often notice when I eat chocolate truffles that as they melt they give way to a unique mouthfeel, one that is almost a cool feeling vs. the warm feeling of the initial outer coating. This was also the case with the Choxie Espresso Truffle bar. Add to this the tiny nibs of espresso evenly spread throughout, which add nice contrast to the super smooth texture, and you have a bar that is a joy to eat.

The chocolate isn't necessarily "top notch," but it is not low-end either, which is exactly what we would expect. The espresso flavor is understated but by no means weak - not nearly the intensity of a chocolate covered espresso bean.

Learn more about Choxie.

Bob Wallace at Permalink | social bookmarking

February 24, 2008

Review: Atkinson's Chick-O-Sticks

chickostix.jpg
I had never seen this treat until I moved to Arizona, I don't think they are available back East, but I could be wrong. Chick-o-Sticks are made by Atkinson Candy Company, located in Lufkin, TX. The company has been family-owned since 1932. Candy Snob loves family-owned, vintage candies.

So initially we picked this piece up wondering what the heck it was. What we found was an absolutely addicting, super crunchy, peanut butter and toasted coconut candy. Atkinson roasts Texas Grade A Jumbo peanuts, sprinkles them with salt while they're still warm, grinds them with pure granulated sugar, and finally dusts them with lightly toasted coconut. The texture is not completely unlike a Butterfinger inside, flaky but more dense and harder. Its the unique flavor combination of peanut butter and coconut that completely puts it over the top. This has become a Candy Snob check-out counter favorite.

But what's with the name? "Chick-o-Stick" sounds like a fast food chain, not a candy. Well, we looked around, and according to nicely noted, it gets the name because it looks like a chicken leg. Hard to tell if this is fact or a theory, but sounds logical to us so we'll go with it. Of course, I don't know of any chicken that's the distinctive orange color of Chick-o-Stix, but what the heck.

Chick-o-Sticks are available at Amazon here.

Bob Wallace at Permalink | social bookmarking

February 21, 2008

Review: Ginger Chews by The Ginger People - Original Flavor

ginger guy.gifMuch to our surprise, we're finding more and more interesting candies in the checkout aisle at Target. The other day, we picked up a 2 oz. box of Original flavored Ginger Chews from The Ginger People.

The package is roughly a cigarette sized box filled with 10 individually wrapped chews. Being a fan of ginger, we decided to check them out. To be honest, we hadn't heard of them before, but according to their website and packaging, they are the #1 selling ginger candy in America, and have been voted Best Candy from 1999-2000 at the Scovie Awards (which present awards to the best "hot" food around).

The pieces are wrapped twice, once in the branded paper, and again in parchment - we assume to keep them fresh. The piece itself is about 3/4 of an inch long by 1/3 of an inch wide and 1/4 of an inch high. When you take the parchment off, the piece has a light dusting of powdered sugar, no doubt to keep it from sticking to the paper. But we also found that it was a nice intro taste.

The sugar starts the flavor journey, a little sweet, which then moves quickly into what can only be compared to Luden's Honey Lemon cough drops. Granted, this is not a bad taste at all, but the similarity took me to Luden's instead of focusing on the Ginger Chew. It doesn't take much time, however, for the ginger flavor to impose itself in a nice way. It is not overbearing, but it definitely heats up and gets you on the sides and back of your tongue.

I would say the texture is more like a European gummy bear - tougher and much stickier than the U.S. counterparts. I wish they would have been a little softer, but they are not inedible by any stretch, this is completely a personal preference.

Overall, if you're a ginger fan, Ginger People Ginger Chews are a really nice option. They have a simple ingredient list, its an all natural product, and its a nice little treat with strong but not overpowering flavors. In addition to the Original flavor, the chews come in Peanut and Spicy Apple.

Go to the Ginger People website.

Check out Ginger Chews at Amazon.

Bob Wallace at Permalink | social bookmarking

February 19, 2008

Review: PayDay Chocolatey Avalanche Bar

PayDayAvalanche.gifWe like PayDay's a lot - salty peanuts and caramel are just a tasty combination. But we LOVE the PayDay Avalanche bar. A simple concept really, begging the question as to why its taken them so long to do it - take a PayDay and cover it in milk chocolate.

We mentioned how much we liked the flavor combo of milk chocolate and salt a few days ago (Review: Lake Champlain Organic Sea Salt & Almonds Milk Chocolate Bar). Well the same idea applies here. You have the crunchy peanuts, the sweet caramel and the chocolate coating, which is good enough on its own. But what puts the PayDay Avalanche bar over the top if the saltiness on the peanuts.

If you're at your local grocer, convenience store or gas station, pick yourself up this updated classic, you won't be sorry.

Or if you anticipate needing a lot of them (which I personally do), you can get them at Amazon.

Check out the PayDay website.

Bob Wallace at Permalink | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Archives

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Powered by
Movable Type 6.3
All items Copyright © 1999-2016 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy